Transmission oil viscosity

Discussions related to motor & gear oils, greases, anti-freezes, etc.
fredpack

Transmission oil viscosity

Post by fredpack » Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:48 pm

This is my first time on this forum so be gentle. I looked but didn't see the answers but I might have missed them so I might ask a question that has already been answered. I purchased a 1935 120 sedan from a man that owned it for 9 years. He drove it occasionally during the summer months but did almost no maintenance on it. I plan on using the car as a tour car this summer. The first thing that I do when i get a new (old) car like this is to go through all the mechanical areas. I've replaced the plugs, wires, points, condenser, tires, all 3 brake hoses, the rear rusted metal brake lines, rear shock bushings, checked the brake shoes, and changed the oil. I'm glad I found this forum because I didn't realize I needed to drop the oil pan but I will do that next. I hate to waste those 7 new quarts of 10W-40 but better to be sure than sorry. I have an original manual but it says to use Packard special oils from the dealer. Here are my questions.

1. I have drained the differential. What weight oil should I use? I have a gallon of 80-90W Nappa hypoid gear oil that I use in other vehicles. Is this acceptable?

2. What oil should I use in the transmission? Can I use the same 80W-90W? Even though the manual says Packard 160 weight with some kerosene added I'm sure the modern oils will be much better.

3. Does it make a difference what coolant I use? Is plain old green antifreeze acceptable?

4. Since I have to drain the 10W-40 out should I replace it with 10W-30?

5. Does this car have an oil filter. I can't find reference to it in the manual.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me. I have always wanted a Packard so you can imagine my anticipation to drive it this summer.

Dave Czirr

Re: Transmission oil viscosity

Post by Dave Czirr » Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:43 pm