1951 200 Part Interchangeability

Discussions related to interchangeability between years and models, and currently available modern sources for parts.
Westside '51 200

1951 200 Part Interchangeability

Post by Westside '51 200 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:29 am

I just purchased an all original '51 200 - it's unmolested and near 100% complete.

The only items I have discovered so far that are missing are the Crest that goes on the front grill and the gas cap.

The rear deck lid / trunk locking mechanism is non functioning.

I'm new to the Packard world and wonder if these 3 parts are interchangeable with different models / model years and if so which models / years.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

Jason

Howard56

Re: 1951 200 Part Interchangeability

Post by Howard56 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:13 am

Welcome to the world of Packard.

Your 200 is considered a base or junior model and is on the smaller 122 wheelbase compared to senior 127 wheelbase cars so for ease of finding parts, try to stick with junior cars when looking. I would suggest you obtain a reprint service and parts manual from the PAC store or visit http://www.packardinfo.com and view or download the 51-4 manuals to get a better idea of what will interchange. Since you are new to Packard there is a considerable amount of sales and service info you might also be interested in looking thru. All is available for free download.

Having said that, for the most part 51-54 parts will interchange but there are some differences due to model designation and wheelbase along with some running change upgrades that were introduced during production. Generally but not always upgraded parts were still able to fit earlier cars. Mechanical drivetrain parts for senior models such as the Patrician or 400 are typically more robust or larger than those used on junior cars. Midrange models such as the 300 were sort of a mixed bag with junior and senior parts kind of intermixed.