Packard Barn Find/ Serial Numbers

Queries about model and year identification, engine and vehicle numbers, etc.
wallhangers

Packard Barn Find/ Serial Numbers

Post by wallhangers » Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:18 pm

I'm new to Packards (just joined here), don't own one but found one stored away. It's probably an early fifty's car by what little bit I got to look at it and what I see on the Internet. By what I've researched, it looks like a data plate will tell me the year/model. Where on the car can I find the data plate? Owner of the car lives in another state and the person overlooking it may not allow me a lot of time to search for it. The car looks to be in great shape, been stored for years. I will try and attach pictures if possible. Thanks in advance. JP
Attachments
Wainio Packard 3.jpg
Wainio Packard inside 2.jpg

Dave Czirr

Re: Packard Barn Find/ Serial Numbers

Post by Dave Czirr » Thu Feb 04, 2021 5:46 am

Congratulations, and welcome.

From the photo it appears to be a 1951, subject to confirmation via the vehicle number. The plate with the vehicle number, paint and trim codes is located in the front of the driver's door opening (on the so-called A pillar). The vehicle number will be comprised of two sets of 4-digit numbers, for a 1951 the first set would begin 24XX, for a 1952 it would be 25XX, P A C K A R D in block letters across the lower front of the hood are a feature of the 1951 models. The second set of digits of the VN would further identify the car as to model and body style.

I'll be glad to provide more info when you provide the full vehicle number. You might also want to look for the motor number, (driver's side, rear, just below the cylinder head below the sensor for the temperature gauge) and the body serial number (large embossed 6-digit number beginning with an A just above the heater box on the cowl).

The AC is obviously a later, aftermarket addition to the car.

wallhangers

Post by wallhangers » Thu Feb 04, 2021 6:57 am