Cheesy Gear shift knob and data plate

Queries about model and year identification, engine and vehicle numbers, etc.
Lee Davis

Cheesy Gear shift knob and data plate

Post by Lee Davis » Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:31 am

I recently bought a new '37 Packard 115c that has been restored. But it came with two very odd features... The gear shift knob is actually an old glass doorknob Yes, a doorknob. People must be hard up for correct shift knobs. I immediately removed it. I am a woodworker, and so I am going to make a new one out of walnut burl that will be an enormous improvement. I already have the 5/16-24 sleeve that will match the gear shift lever. The other thing is the data plate. It is from a 1938 car that was sold in Fond Du Lac, WI, (in correct stamping font) and the stamped date is 3 12 38. In very poor shape, I suppose they just wanted a data plate that showed 'Packard'. Since the vin number is the engine number, the number on the plate didn't matter. The 'Delivered By' was blank, so they scratched "motor car sales co" into the blank space... it is barely legible. Then they stamped a '7' over the '8', to conform to the correct year. Since McCumber Motor Company was the Packard dealer for Fond Du Lac, the scratched in name is quite ridiculous. Fortunately, neither of these cheesy things will stay.

Dave Czirr

Re: Cheesy Gear shift knob and data plate

Post by Dave Czirr » Thu Apr 29, 2021 1:05 pm

US-built 1938 Packards did not have a metal patent plate, that year and only that year used a decal. So your patent or data plate is NOT from a Detroit-built 1938 Packard. The Ontario- built Packards did use a brass plate, but showed the car as a product of Canada. And of course as sold, the vehicle number on the plate would never be the motor number. How about a pix of the plate?

Lee Davis

Post by Lee Davis » Thu Apr 29, 2021 2:53 pm