1931 Packard 833 Golf Door Conv.

If you're starting a project, large or small, please share your progress with us in pictures and words.
Packard833

1931 Packard 833 Golf Door Conv.

Post by Packard833 » Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:03 am

I am starting this blog to show the process of the restoration of my 1931 Packard 833 8 cylinder golf door convertible.

This is going to be a restoration project for myself and my in-laws, as this will be their show/driver.

A little history on myself, I am an accountant by trade, but take out the pocket protector and get dirty in grease and grim as my passion is for restoring and building cars.
I have personally restored 5 cars, 1951 Chevy 3/4 ton pickup(currently still have and finished the restoration last year), 1955 Pontiac, 1955 Chevy, 1937 Ford full custom, and a 1958 Chevy.

Since this is my first wood structure build, I am looking for any advice I can get.
As you can see from the pictures, the car has no original wood structure, thus I am deciding whether to build the structure out of metal or wood. Now I know people will be saying it depends if you want a concours car or just a really nice show/driver. We haven’t decided on that yet. I know if I do it out of metal it would not be a concours car as it would be original.
I am leaning more towards metal as, one its easier and cheaper, but since I don’t have any templates for the wood, I feel that would be very difficult. Unless someone here on the forum could help me out with that.

History of the car.
Purchased it from a guy in FL, but the car was located in up-state NY, that had a shop start a restoration 10 years ago. The shop disassembled it(cut the hell out of it), so this project is a puzzle to say the least.
The Engine I was told was rebuild and the front end was all been re-chromed. But due to being out in the weather for the past 2 years, it will need to be redone.
The Frame is clean and will just need a repaint.