'49 Packard Headliner

If you're starting a project, large or small, please share your progress with us in pictures and words.
Tinman_70

'49 Packard Headliner

Post by Tinman_70 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:43 am

I’m going to try to make and install a scratch-built metal bowed headliner for my ‘49 Club Sedan. This is going to be a project in itself. Metal bowed headliners are used in many cars beginning in the mid-30s when cars started being built with solid metal roofs and were used up until the 60s.

I have done 2 bowed headliners in the past, one 35 years ago and one about 3 years ago. So I’m far from an expert just a do-it-yourselfer. From the first one I learned that it was not as hard as I thought it would be and from the more recent one, don’t trust people that sell pre-sewn headliners. If you are going to buy something pre-sewn, get references on the manufacturer from people that have installed their product in a car similar to yours.

There is quite a difference from the ones I’ve done in the past and the one in the Packard. First, this one will be done in fabric while the others were vinyl. The others had fixed bows, that are solidly attached with screws to the roof frame. The Packard bows are “floating”, they are set in rubber grommets and can move back and forth. This may make the installation easier or maybe not.

Preparation:

When I bought the car, the headliner looked like it just needed some wrinkles stretched out.
P9110244.JPG
Once I got a good look, it was clear that it would need to be replaced. It was not the original and had been replaced with headliner material that was intended for newer cars with one-piece headliner inserts where this type material is glued directly to the insert.