Packard 1937 by Pennock of the Hague

Post your favorite Packard photos, contemporary or vintage.
Ted Mooren

Packard 1937 by Pennock of the Hague

Post by Ted Mooren » Fri May 22, 2015 11:32 am

I came across your interesting forum, after I recovered a long lost photograph of a Packard I once owned.
Maybe photograph and story are of interest to Packard lovers.
In 1959 I bought for peanuts a 6-cylinder (type 120?) 1937 Packard (in showroom condition!), with a 5-seat cabriolet coachwork by "Pennock coachbuilders" of the Hague of a widow in Driebergen, the Netherlands.
(Since the car had been used during WWII, when people where not supposed to own a car anymore, nor was petrol available, I fear her late husband was - at least - Nazi friendly…)
I was an 18-years old student than and since fuel was/is VERY expensive in the Netherlands, I could not keep the Packard and sold it to a wealthy Dutch collector at Utrecht and… bought an enormous two-seater double six factory-build Packard of ± 1927 (?), which literally crossed my way in my then home village …
The 70+ year old couple who owned it found it to heavy to drive in our small country without long straights. Therefore they had just bought a… Renault Dauphine (!), but their dealer was not interested in exchanging the Packard. (I will look for pictures and then forward them.)
Of course I had to sell that one to after a short while.
I know no more about the history/whereabouts of both cars.
The biggest trip I made with the Pennock was with five (of course paying!) friends to Switzerland. Despite the relatively small engine output and only three gears, we climbed high mountains without any problem…

I enclose a picture of the Pennock and friends (1960).

Kind regards,

Ted Mooren,
Amsterdam.
Packard 1937-1959-def.jpg

Dave Czirr

Re: Packard 1937 by Pennock of the Hague

Post by Dave Czirr » Fri May 22, 2015 2:28 pm

Hi Ted, and welcome!