turn signals

PAC is dedicated to the preservation or authentic restoration and use of Packards; if you must consider non-stock modifications, here's the place.
bobhattler

turn signals

Post by bobhattler » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:43 am

I have a 1940 Packard 120 sedan convertible that I would like to put turn signals on in a fashion to maintain originality.
Bob Hattler

Dave Czirr

Re: turn signals

Post by Dave Czirr » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:21 am

Bob - welcome!

I was hoping that someone who had actually done this job would chime in, thus I delayed responding because I have no direct experience doing this job, but here goes.

One of the major makers of aftermarket direction signal units (that attached to the steering column) was Signal-Stat and their units and well as units may by other makers are often seen at flea markets and on eBay. Also if you "google" a bit you'll find there are kit makers for installations on older cars that mount below or behind the dashboard, pretty much out of sight, and have provision for switching (but usually without auto-cancel feature). You'll want a unit for 6-volt, I'm reasonably confident the polarity (pos. or neg. ground) is not an issue unless the unit uses solid-state components.

Unless your tail lights have a separate bulb for brake and tail light like 1941/42, you'll need to install new sockets for use with dual-filament bulbs. Plenty of suppliers that provide that kind of item, probably any of the major makers of repro wiring harnesses and also places like Restoration Supply. If you want me to fish around a bit for more specifics, let me know but if you buy a modern under-dash unit the supplier will probably have all this info and perhaps the additional parts as well.

Do please keep us posted on your progress as this is likely to be a topic that comes up again and others will thus be able to benefit from your experience.

Adam

Post by Adam » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:31 am